new

old

email

guests

notes

profile

host

2005-08-28

lumberyard view

Today, I'm forced to seek higher ground.

A likely category 5 hurricane is bearing down on New Orleans. A direct hit tomorrow will devastate this beautiful and historic city. My parish is scheduled to be in the eye wall. Worst place to be. I've never wished these monsterous storms to make landfall on any of our goodneighboring southern states, but this morning has been tearful as I pack and think of the potential damage to this city I love. Part of my photograph collection is a small group of photos taken by a man who owned the first photo processing store in downtown New Orleans. He walked the French Quarter and City Park to shoot twisted sign posts and power lines and uprooted trees after the hurricane that struck his city in 1915.

Someday, I'll post some of them.




previous / next