new

old

email

guests

notes

profile

host

2004-04-03

womblike room

I�m having an �I am Woman� weekend since I�m all menstrual and migraine-y, and I somehow managed to arrange the timely arrival of these three Netflix dvds into my mailbox yesterday: In the Cut, The Magdalene Sisters and Dirty Pretty Things.

I�m a lover of Jane Campion films, so I can�t help but place myself in the group of three or four people who didn�t totally diss In the Cut. She is a director of the smallest of details and defused light and male-female discord, and I liked the film much more than I expected. Though perhaps not the predictable ending, but she was working from a well-worn psycho-thriller template. It was also sweet to see Meg Ryan sans her makeup and mannerisms (and clothing) and Mark Ruffalo is someone to fantasize about.

Going back to couch and pillows and blanket and fetal.

Barely sensing the beautiful day passing through leafing branches behind the drawn blinds of my open windows.



previous / next