new

old

email

guests

notes

profile

host

2001-11-05

like when I accidentally catch a glimpse of Britney Spears and a Pepsi

Disclaimer: I'm not anti-military...what I am right now is a mix of complex feelings about a complicated situation ...one that continues to be as upsetting as what happened on September 11th...so don't get me wrong...but I'd like to think that in our near future we can find a better way than this.

I keep hearing the phrase:

"we must do this in defense of our civilization".

I keep thinking the phrase should be:

"we must do this in defense of our particular way of life"....or, no....

blah blah blah "in defense of our preferred lifestyle"....ooor YES....

"we must do this in defense of our way of sashaying our fine fat asses about the planet as though we own the place".

So it seems I'll be moving to London soon...or Portland...ooor the Rutgers Camden Law Library, where fellow disgruntled diarylanders spend most of their time. I'm pretty excited about all the changes this relocation will force upon me, only one being the advent of a much needed minimalistic, and highly desirable bohemian style of living. I usually carry at least three bags for a weekend away from home. So as I do away with the excesses and make the necessary preparations, a few of my furnishings will go into storage and I'll be putting up 62 pairs of shoes on eBay. That'll leave me with 57 pair of cantlivewithouts. Yep. I'm an American girl. And I'm also quite ashamed of how civilized I am.

This weekend I watched:

Requiem for a Dream (again)

I felt my own brain cooking during Sara's shock therapy. I wonder if any actor will ever meet my standards again after experiencing Burstyn's performance. I'll be living with dry-heaving withdrawals until Aronofsky's third film.

and Bad Timing

Art Garfunkel. Isn't he one old folk singer who's chosen his movie roles with curious care? Catch 22, Carnal Knowledge, Boxing Helena (which was silly). Roeg's film fits the mold. It's darkly sexy and oh, I like that.

I felt trapped by both these films. Like there's no air and nowhere to go. The best kind of psychological trauma, that's sex and drug induced. And the startling visuals are watchable without flinching because of the pulse or the lull of the music. The score for RfaD never loosens it's grip.

previous / next